Land of the Brave

North Colonies

Colonial America - Land of the Brave

The North Colonies are commonly referred to as the New England Colonies.

  • The New England North Colonies consisted of four of the original 13 Colonies:

Facts and Information about the North Colonies
Information and Facts about the North Colonies of Colonial America:

  • Fact 1: The geography of North consisted of mountains thick with trees, rivers and poor rocky soil that was difficult to farm and unsuitable for crops
  • Fact 2: Farming was difficult for crops like wheat because of the poor soil but corn, pumpkins, rye, squash and beans were raised
  • Fact 3: Initially no religious freedom in the North Colonies as the did not tolerate any other form of religion
  • Fact 4: Mild and short summers and long, cold winters but less disease than in the warmer southern colonies
  • Fact 5: Industries & Products - Fish, whale, ships, timber, furs, maple syrup, copper, livestock, horses, rum, whiskey and beer - refer to Colonial Times

The North Colonies - Economic Activity & Trade
There were considerable differences between the North, Middle and Southern regions. Economic activities and trade were dependant of the environment in which the Colonists lived. The geography and climate impacted the trade and economic activities of North Colonies. In the Northern towns along the coast, the colonists made their living fishing, whaling, and shipbuilding. The fish included cod, mackerel, herring, halibut, hake,  bass and sturgeon. Whale oil was a valuable resource as it could be used in lamps. Farming was difficult in North for crops like wheat because of the poor soil but corn, pumpkins, rye, squash and beans were planted. The North Colonies concentrated in manufacture and focussed on town life and industries such as ship building and the manufacture and export of rum. See .

Government in the North Colonies
All of the systems of government in the New England Colonies elected their own legislature, they were all democratic, they all had a governor, governor's court, and a court system. The government systems used by the North Colonies were Royal of Charter. Definitions of the government systems are as follows:

  • Royal Government: The Royal Colonies were ruled directly by the English monarchy
  • Charter Government: The Charter Colonies were generally self-governed, and their charters were granted to the colonists.

For additional facts and information refer to .

Religion in the North Colonies
The religion practised in North was strictly and they did not tolerate any other religions - refer to and .

Original Names of the North Colonies
The original names of the North Colonies were the Province of New Hampshire, later New Hampshire, the Province of Massachusetts Bay, later Massachusetts and Maine, the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, later Rhode Island and the Connecticut Colony, later Connecticut.

The North Colonies Timeline
Discover interesting  information and facts about the history of the North. For a more comprehensive history timeline detailing specific events relating to all of the 13 Colonies refer to Colonial America Time Period. This North Colonies Timeline provides a list detailing key events and dates of this amazing period in Colonial history. The four North Colonies of Colonial America included the colonies of New Hampshire, Massachusetts Bay Colony, Rhode Island and Connecticut.

1620: The Pilgrim Fathers, or Pilgrims, founded the second colony of Plymouth in North in 1620, located in present-day Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States. The Mayflower Compact was a legal document written by the Pilgrims to specify basic laws and social rules for their new colony. In 1624, Virginia was made a royal colony.

1620: The Pilgrims, the founders of Plymouth, arrived in 1620. John Mason and Sir Ferdinando Gorges, the "Father of English Colonization in North America" had received land in the North which became the Massachusetts Bay Colony. John Mason eventually formed New Hampshire and the land of Sir Ferdinando Gorges led to Maine. Massachusetts Bay Colony controlled both regions until New Hampshire was given a royal charter in 1679 and Maine was made its own state in 1820.

1636: Connecticut was initially settled by colonists, led by Thomas Hooker, he left the Massachusetts Bay Colony due to dissatisfaction and settled in the Connecticut River Valley. In 1639, three settlements joined to form a unified government creating a document called the Fundamental Orders of Connecticut, the first written constitution in America. King Charles II officially united Connecticut as a single colony in 1662.

1636: Rhode Island. Roger Williams was banished from the Massachusetts Bay Colony and founded Providence. Anne Hutchinson was also banished from the Massachusetts Bay Colony and she settled Portsmouth. Two additional settlements were also formed in the area. All 4 settlements received a charter from England creating their own government eventually called Rhode Island.

1662: King Charles II officially united Connecticut as a single colony

1679: New Hampshire. John Mason received land in the North Colonies which formed the Massachusetts Bay Colony. John Mason eventually formed New Hampshire when the region was given a royal charter in 1679

1686: Formation of the Dominion of New England - King James II combines the colonies of Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay Colony, Plymouth, Rhode Island, New York, New Hampshire, East Jersey and West Jersey into a single colony: The Dominion of New England, see Charter Colonies for additional info

1688: King James II appoints Sir Edmund Andros to serve as Captain General and Governor in Chief of New England (North Colonies). Sir Edmund Andros causes dissension with the colonists as he does not have to answer to any elected assembly

1688: 1688 - 1763 The French and Indian Wars between France and Great Britain for lands in North America

1689: Mar 1689 Glorious Revolution Sparks Revolt in the colonies. Boston militiamen seize Governor-in-Chief Andros and put him in jail. The North colonies begin to re-establish governments. Jacob Leisler (1640-1691) was a German immigrant who led the insurrection against local colonial officials from 1689 to 1691 in colonial New York

1691: Plymouth joined with the Massachusetts Bay Colony

1691: Salem Witchcraft Trials - Hysteria over witchcraft accusations consumes Salem Village, Massachusetts

1696: 1696 Salutary Neglect. The British government establishes the Board of Trade to oversee colonial policies practicing a policy of "Salutary Neglect," in which it gives the colonies considerable freedom in economic matters.

1722: Wabanaki-New England War of 17221725 aka Father Rale's War or Lovewell's War in Maine

1763: The Royal Proclamation of 1763 was issued October 7, 1763 bringing the introduction of the massive boundary, which was the Proclamation Line between the colonies and Indian Territories

1765: 1765 The Stamp Act of 1765

1765: The Sons of Liberty was an an organization (a secret society) formed by American Patriots who opposed British measures against the colonists, and agitated for resistance

1767: 1767 Townshend Acts

1770: March 5, 1770: The Boston Massacre during which British troops killed 5 Boston civilians.

1773: Tea Act

1774: December 16: The Boston Tea Party - Massachusetts patriots dressed as Mohawk Indians protested against the British Tea Act

1775: The American Revolution (1775- 1783) started when shots were fired at the Battle of Concord

A document declaring the US to be independent of the British Crown was signed on July 4, 1776, by the congressional representatives of the 13 Colonies

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement