Land of the Brave

13 Colonies Chart

Colonial America - Land of the Brave

The 13 Colonies span the time in early American history from 1607 to 1776. The English settlement of the original 13 Colonies were located on the Atlantic coast of North America and founded between 1607 in Virginia and 1733 in Georgia.

The New England Colonies list consisted of four of the original 13 Colonies:
The Middle Colonies list also consisted of four of the original 13 Colonies:
The Southern Colonies list consisted of five of the original 13 Colonies:

All of the systems of government in the 13 Colonies Chart elected their own legislature, they were all democratic, they all had a governor, governor's court, and a court system. Definitions of each of the government systems are as follows:

  • Royal Government: The Royal Colonies were ruled directly by the English monarchy
  • Propriety Government: The King granted land to people who then formed Proprietary (Private) Colonies
  • Charter Government: The Charter Colonies were generally self-governed, and their charters were granted to the colonists.

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement