Land of the Brave

Georgia Colony

Colonial America - Land of the Brave

The Georgia Colony
The Georgia Colony was one of the original 13 colonies located on the Atlantic coast of North America. The original 13 colonies were divided into three geographic areas consisting of the New England, Middle and Southern colonies. The Georgia Colony was classified as one of the Southern Colonies.

The Province of Georgia was an English colony in North America that existed from 1732 until 1776, when it joined the other 12 of the 13 colonies in rebellion against Great Britain and became the U.S. state of Georgia.

Founding of the Georgia Colony
When was the colony of Georgia founded? The Georgia Colony was founded in 1732 by and other colonists.

The Naming of the Georgia Colony
Named after King George II of England. The terms of the charter granted by the king specified that the colony was named after the king.

Information and Facts with the Georgia Colony Fact File
Georgia was the last to be established of the English colonies in North America. Its formation was due to a desire of the British government to protect South Carolina from invasion by the Spaniards from Florida and by the French from Louisiana, as well as to the desire of James Oglethorpe to found a refuge for the persecuted Protestant sects and the unfortunate but worthy impoverished classes of Europe. Fast facts and interesting information about the founding, establishment, geography, climate, religion, history, natural resources, raw material, industries (refer to ) and the famous historical people associated with the Georgia Colony of Colonial America.

ⓒ 2017 Siteseen Limited

First Published

Cookies Policy


Updated 2018-01-01

Publisher Siteseen Limited

Privacy Statement